Genre industrial, ebm, dark electro, electronic, darkwave

Wumpscut was an electro-industrial project from Germany. It was founded in May of 1991 by Bavarian disc jockey Rudy Ratzinger (born June 3, 1966) and ended in May of 2017.

Ratzinger was the creative force behind Wumpscut, occasionally employing the help of others as guest artists. Ratzinger cites the influence of such bands as Leæther Strip as his reason for making the transfer from DJing to recording music.

The release of the song "Soylent Green", which is named after the 1973 movie and also contains audio samples from the German dubbed version, first attracted attention to Wumpscut. Since its release in 1993, it has become a frequently played song at events and clubs in the gothic and industrial subcultures and its associated splinter groups, both in Germany and the United States.

So far Ratzinger has published numerous recordings and remixes for other artists. Wumpscut is also very well known for elaborate box set releases including limited versions of a CD or LP release in a box with additional and often also limited bonus material (bonus tracks,energy drinks, posters, pins, stickers, bags, flags, etc.). Wumpscut albums are reissued regularly with variant artworks and occasionally bonus tracks. Standalone merchandise is also available such as caps, mugs, etc.

Studio Albums

* Music for a Slaughtering Tribe (1993)
* Music for a Slaughtering Tribe II (1997 - features revised track order and remix CD)
* Bunkertor 7 (1995) (released as 'Bunker Gate 7' in USA)
* Embryodead (1997)
* Boeses Junges Fleisch (1999) (released as 'Eevil Young Flesh' in USA)
* Wreath of Barbs (2001)
* Bone Peeler (2004)
* Evoke (2005)
* Cannibal Anthem (2006)
* Body Census (2007)
* Schädling (2008)
* Fuckit (2009)
* Siamese (2010)
* Schrekk & Grauss (2011)
* Women And Satan First (2012)
* Madman Szpital (2013)
* Bulwark Bazooka (2014)
* Blutspuker Tavern (2015)
* Wüterich (2016)


* Mesner Tracks (1996)
* Born Again (1997)
* Dried Blood of Gomorrha (1997)
* Blutkind (2000)
* Liquid Soylent (2002)
* Preferential Legacy - Music For A German Tribe (2003)
* Killer Archives (2006)
* Innerfire (2017)

Singles and EPs

* Dried Blood (1994)
* Gomorra, (1994)
* Totmacher (1999) (released as 'Deadmaker' in USA)
* Ich Will Dich (1999) (released as 'I Want You' in USA)
* Deliverence (2001)
* Wreath of Barbs (2002) (initially 2 CD singles - issued in 2003 as single CD)
* Blondi (2005)
* Jesus Antichristus & Die Liebe (2006)

Demos and Limited Releases

* Defcon (1991) (self-released cassette)
* Small Chambermusicians (1992) (self-released cassette)
* Smell the Disgusting Sweet Taste of Dried Blood (1994) (limited vinyl single)
* The Oma Thule Single (1995) (limited vinyl single)

Read more

Top Tracks

Soylent Green 1

Soylent Green

Christfuck 2


War 3


Torn Skin 4

Torn Skin

Thorns 5


Wreath of Barbs (album mix) 6

Wreath of Barbs (album mix)

Is It You 7

Is It You

Angel 8


Fear in Motion 9

Fear in Motion

Die in Winter 10

Die in Winter

Top Albums

Bunkertor 7
Bunkertor 7
Wreath Of Barbs
Wreath Of Barbs
Fear in Motion
Fear in Motion